The wines of Bordeaux are some of the most famous in the world. But with over 120,000ha of vineyard covering 10,000 Chateaux, navigating the region can be extremely challenging. To help make sense of it all, a useful place to start are the five different Bordeaux classifications in the region. 

The 1855 Classification
The 2022 St Emilion Classification
The 1959 Graves Classification 
The 1932 & 2020 Cru Bourgeois Classification
The 2023 Médoc Crus Artisans Classification
Pomerol: The Enigmatic Appellation

Bordeaux, often hailed as the epitome of fine wine, boasts a rich tapestry of classifications that have shaped its renowned reputation. From the illustrious Grand Cru Classé to the lesser-known Crus Bourgeois, each classification encapsulates centuries of tradition, expertise and terroir.

The concept of wine classifications in Bordeaux traces back to the 1855 Exposition Universelle de Paris, where Napoleon III requested a classification system for the region's best wines. The result was the Bordeaux Wine Official Classification of 1855, which classified the top Médoc, Sauternes and Barsac Châteaux into five tiers, based on reputation and price.

Over time, additional classifications emerged to recognize other regions within Bordeaux and to adapt to changing market dynamics and quality standards.